Community Masterclass : Light

Sunday June 4 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Loading Events

« Back to All Events

  • This event has passed.

Details

Date:
Sunday June 4
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost:
$29
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,

Awake by Artur Rosa

Understand Light Effects, Properties and Types
13 Aspects of Light Explained
Community sharing of lighting tips and challenges

Above image by Artur Rosa (VUE) – see his DeviantArt Gallery here

Let there be light….

When I first ventured into 3D digital art, one of the things I struggled most with was light.

It wasn’t just in how to light particular scenes, but it was the terminology and the physics of light that I didn’t understand very well. Terms such as “volumetric light”, “diffraction” and “subsurface scattering” eluded me and made this area of 3D art a little harder to get into.

This community masterclass will help those who have struggled with these lighting terms. We’ll also go into some of the science of light to give a fuller background on the subject.

New Date: Sunday 4th of June – 20:00 BST/12:00 PDT/15:00 EDT

Duration : 1.5 hours+

Presenter : Paul Bussey – Editor of Digital Art Live

13 Aspects of Light Explained.

Light Effects

  • Reflection
  • Refraction
  • Caustics
  • Translucency
  • Shadow

Light Properties

  • Mood
  • Colour
  • Intensity
  • Decay

Light Types

  • Point light
  • Spot light
  • Area light
  • Directional light
  • Volumetric light

Community Sharing of Achievement and Challenges with Light

We open some time up to community members to share their challenges and achievements from their 3D scenes.

(Image above “Awake” courtesy of Artur Rosa)