Visual Story Writing : From Inception to Production

Saturday November 2 @ 8:00 pm - Saturday November 9 @ 9:30 pm GMT

Loading Events

« Back to All Events

  • This event has passed.

Details

Start:
Saturday November 2 @ 8:00 pm
End:
Saturday November 9 @ 9:30 pm
Cost:
Free – $35
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, ,

Who's Attending

23 people are attending Visual Story Writing : From Inception to Production

  • Frederik Sally
  • Sean OConnor
  • Mark Williams
  • Willem Van Dooren
  • Matthias Schmidt
  • Larry Gilman
  • Silke Oldershaw
  • Kelli Jordan
  • Gabriel Tambunga
  • Sarah Reid
  • jorge galvan diaz
  • Robert Sheridan
  • Rodney Hill
  • John Stroo
  • Carlos Fernandes
  • Robert Suchecki
  • Cami Dutton
  • Trevor Hancock
  • Stephan Silz
  • Christine Cornell
  • Marcos Vazquez
  • Mark Marx
  • Load all attendees

Tickets

Tickets are not available as this event has passed.

Every road trip requires a map to prevent the driver getting lost along the way. Similarly the crafting of any well told story for a visual narrative is potentially a long road trip!

On the way you may find some diverting stops and detours. You might even change your mind about the final destination.

But if you are wandering aimlessly without a plan, your passengers (or readers) will eventually get tired, hungry and grumpy. They’ll think again before going on a road trip with you.

Without a proper map there is no answer to, “Are we there yet?”

High quality stories tell you plainly when you have arrived at the destination. Don’t leave your passengers guessing about whether you’re getting close.

Stories have deliverable payoff points- just like like the signs along a highway counting down the miles until you’ve reached your destination. They give you a sense of scale and a growing anticipation that the end is nearing.

Drew Spence sits down with you to go over his experience and guides you on crafting stories for your visual narratives.

Webinar session 1

Sat 2nd November 20:00 GMT (London)/13:00 PDT (Los Angeles)/16:00 EDT (New York)

Expected duration : 1.5 hours

Webinar Session 2

Sat 9th November 20:00 GMT (London)/12:00 PST (Los Angeles)/15:00 EST (New York)

Expected duration : 1.5 hours

Part I Creating Your Story from Inception to Production (session 1)

  • Nailing down the “Big Idea” and inspiration behind your work as you create a vision worth investing your time and resources and being worthy of reading and supporting.
  • Pro Tips and the necessary elements that you should have in place BEFORE you start creating your story.
  • Breaking your story into deliverable chunks and creating incentives for support and the emotional investment from your readership.

Part II Caring for your story (session 1)

  • Crafting characters and creating a curve. We’ll go beyond the heroes’ journey and focus on the ‘lost art’ of storytelling through images and well, more images.
  • We will tackle maintaining a production schedule along with time management and the intersection between inspiration and technical skill.
  • We will provide tools to address writer’s block, lulls, dry spells, rough spots and even avoiding dead ends.

Part III Closing out your story, taking breaks and exit points. (session 2)

  • We will address buffer zones and creating natural gaps, a hiatus and premature endings.
  • We cover the techniques to ramp the entire series towards a satisfying climax.
  • We finish with the finale -After the story is done and the open-ended ending.

About the Presenter Drew Spence

Drew Spence is a graphic comic writer and illustrator from the United States. He creates under the title of The Dynamic Universe. He has combined his music and video into several works- including Mark of the Griffin, which is both a graphic novel and web series. He is part of the instrumental group Fallout Shelter which provides the soundtrack. The other band members are Domino Grey, Dynamics Plus and Xodus Phoenix.
Drew Spence is a graduate of Stony Brook University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Fine Art and holds various certificates – from graphic arts to web design. Drew Spence was the CEO and Editor-in-chief of Producer’s Edge magazine, a quarterly publication dedicated to all aspects of music production. The magazine was packaged with a DVD which included sound samples, instructional videos and software. He currently lives on Long Island, New York and produces his work from the aptly named Fallout Shelter Studios, where he crafts crafty and clever comics using CGI and photorealistic image manipulation.
www.TheDynamicUniverse.com
@DynamicaMusic