Prototyping : Rapid Character Development from Artbreeder to DAZ Studio

Saturday May 23 @ 8:00 pm - Sunday May 24 @ 9:30 pm BST

Loading Events

« Back to All Events

  • This event has passed.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Details

Start:
Saturday May 23 @ 8:00 pm BST
End:
Sunday May 24 @ 9:30 pm BST
Cost:
Free – $55
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,

Artbreeder is a must have resource for generating absolutely unique characters.

What if you could take Artbreeder 2D characters to create 3D character models in DAZ Studio

You would have a universe of brand new characters to try in your DAZ Studio scenes!

John Haverkamp has refined a workflow to do just this. You can learn how this works step by step by joining us on the 23rd and 24th of May.

There is a hybrid software approach to this, with all of these applications free to try.

  • Artbreeder for rapid generation of the concept character
  • Facegen (demo software is free) to create the custom 3D mesh and UV layout
  • DAZ Studio
  • Load the mesh into DAZ Studio allowing a bridge to ZBrush
  • Zbrush (trial for free for 30 days) for polypaint and normal map generation
  • Photoshop for map blending and adjustment. 

Webinar Schedule : 2 session class

Session 1 (introductory): Saturday 23rd of May : 20:00 BST/ 12:00 PDT / 15:00 EDT

Session 1 (main) : Saturday 23rd of May : 20:30 BST/ 12:30 PDT / 15:30 EDT

Session 2 : Sunday 24th of May : 20:00 BST/ 12:00 PDT / 15:00 EDT

Webinars Content

Essentials in face structure and sculptural forms

  • The Skull
  • Muscles
  • Eyes
  • Mouth
  • Fat
  • Skin Pores and Wrinkles
  • Male, Female, and Ethnic Differences

Artbreeder 

  • Best practices for picking Artbreeder images
  • Provisos for selecting Artbreeder image
  • High resolution export (ideal)

Facegen

  • Attention to profile view : adjustments required
  • Adjust demographic sliders if needed
  • Play with the color
  • Adjust the final map ready for export

DAZ Studio

  • Blend multiple Facegen results : to get the result you want (blending the morphs)
  • Cleaning multiple morph inputs via Morph Loader Pro

ZBrush

  • Adjusting and fine tuning the morph
  • Special attention in fixing issues on the eyes
  • Fibremesh or Sculpt eyebrows
  • Polygrouping for isolating UV zones.
  • Subdividing the Zbrush model
  • Polypainting
  • Skin pore painting : base pass using the color map from Facegen.
  • Skin pore painting : skin pore hand painting strategies
  • Normal map export
  • Diffuse map export

Photoshop

  • Fixing and blending the maps

Rinse and Repeat DAZ Studio <-> ZBrush <-> Photoshop

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

About John Haverkamp

John Haverkamp was born in Ohio and then moved to the pristine Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia at a young age. There he spent a semi-isolated childhood re-enacting the Lord of the Rings and being corrupted by Dungeons and Dragons. Always with the fondness for the fantastical and medieval, Art school drove him deeper into Luddite territory by granting him the skills of a traditional metal-smith. This meant post-college jobs making copper fountains, welding and steel fabricating, casting and finishing bronze sculptures, and working for an architectural blacksmith throughout his twenties.

Digitally, John got sucked into cyberspace and the arcane mysteries of 3D studio max. The perfect software match for John was Zbrush discovered six years ago. Now he teaches digital arts part time, and constantly endeavours to improve his craft as a digital-sculptor and visualizer through personal work, illustration and indie game projects.


John Haverkamp ZBrush sculptor